Derrick Johnson

Derrick Johnson is State President of the Mississippi State Conference of the NAACP. Elected in 2004, he is the youngest State President in the country. He earned his Jurist Doctorate Degree from South Texas College of Law in Houston, TX and a Bachelor of Arts Degree from Tougaloo College in Jackson, MS. He served as a Fellow with the Congressional Black Caucus Foundation in Washington, DC, while working in the office of Congressman Bennie G. Thompson and as a Fellow with the George Washington University Graduate School of Political Management Minority Fellowship Program. In the aftermath of Katrina, Mr. Johnson served as Vice-Chair of the Governor’s Commission for Recovery, Rebuilding, and Renewal. Mr. Johnson also serves on the boards of the Mississippi ACLU, Hope Community Credit Union, and on the Advisory Council of the Mississippi Economic Policy Center. In February 2008, he was elected to the NAACP National Board of Directors by the Association’s board members. Additionally, Mr. Johnson was appointed by the Chief Justice of the Mississippi Supreme Court as a Commissioner to the Mississippi Access to Justice Commission.